Do You Know How Many National Park are In Manipur


Manipur has one national park, Keibul Lamjao National Park, also known as Loktak Lake National Park. It was established in 1977 and is located in the Bishnupur district of the state. The park is home to a unique ecosystem of floating phumdis, which are made up of vegetation and soil that float on the surface of Loktak Lake. The phumdis provide habitat for a variety of plants and animals, including the endangered sangai deer.

Here are some additional details about the park:

  • Area: 43.7 square kilometers (16.9 square miles)
  • Altitude: 770 meters (2,526 feet) above sea level
  • Climate: Tropical monsoon
  • Flora: Over 200 species of plants, including orchids, ferns, and mosses
  • Fauna: Over 100 species of birds, 20 species of mammals, and 50 species of reptiles and amphibians

Keibul Lamjao National Park, also known as Loktak Lake National Park, is situated in the Bishnupur district of Manipur. It was established in 1966 as a wildlife sanctuary and later upgraded to a national park in 1977. The park is renowned for its unique floating phumdis, a type of freshwater ecosystem formed by the accumulation of vegetation and organic matter on the surface of Loktak Lake. Keibul Lamjao National Park is home to a diverse range of flora and fauna, including the endangered sangai, Manipur’s state animal.

Manipur also has several wildlife sanctuaries, including:

  • Yangoupokpi-Lokchao Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Bunning Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Dzuko Valley
  • Jiri-Makru Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Kailam Wildlife Sanctuary
  • Shiroy Community Forest
  • Zeilad Lake Sanctuary

These protected areas play a crucial role in preserving Manipur’s rich biodiversity and providing habitats for various plant and animal species.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Share post: